Margaret Forster

Margaret Forster
Margaret Forster
Margaret Forster was born in Carlisle in 1938, and educated at the Carlisle and County High School for Girls. From here she won an Open Scholarship to Somerville College, Oxford where in 1960 she was awarded an honours degree in History.
The day after she finished her final exams, she married Hunter Davies, whom she met and fell in love with at the age of 17.
Since 1963 Margaret Forster worked as a novelist, biographer and freelance literary critic, contributing regularly to book programmes on television, to Radio 4 and various newspapers and magazines.
Her best selling works include the biography of Daphne du Maurier, a memoir of her own family, ‘Hidden Lives’, and the novel ‘The Memory Box’.
‘Hidden Lives’ is Margaret Forster’s biography of her grandmother, her mother and herself. The story starts in working class origins in Carlisle, and mirrors the fortunes of three generations of British womanhood. ‘Precious Lives’ is about the death of her father and her sister-in-law, both from Carlisle. ‘Rich Desserts and Captain’s Thin’ tells the story of the Carr family, a Quaker family who set up a biscuit making business in Carlisle which became one of the largest baking businesses in Britain.
Her later novels tended to be based strongly in fact – “I’m always writing about family relationships, what family means and the way duty and love are all mixed up.”
She used to live partly in Cumbria and partly in London with her husband the writer Hunter Davies. She died on 8 February 2016 in London, and their Loweswater house has now been sold.
Related Links :

Go to Menu :