World Heritage Status for the Lake District

Lake District UNESCO World Heritage Status Honour

On Sunday 9th July 2017 The Lake District gained UNESCO World Heritage Status, joining the ranks of such places as Stonehenge, The Great Barrier Reef, The Grand Canyon and The Taj Mahal. It is the first national park in the UK to be granted the status.
The UNESCO committee praised the area’s beauty, farming and the inspiration it had provided to artists and writers, including William Wordsworth and Beatrix Potter.
The English Lake District is the 31st place in the UK and UK overseas territories to acquire UNESCO World Heritage status.
The Lake District, part of the county of Cumbria, is the largest of the United Kingdom’s National Parks, and contains 16 lakes, including Windermere, England’s largest natural lake, more than 150 high peaks, with four over 3000 feet, including England’s highest mountain, Scafell Pike.
About 18 million people visit the Lake District each year, spending a total of £1.2bn and providing about 18,000 jobs.

Lake District UNESCO World Heritage Status Honour, Buttermere, Crummock Water, and Loweswater
Buttermere (bottom), Crummock Water (centre), and Loweswater (top).

John Glen, minister for arts, heritage and tourism, said: “The Lake District is one of the UK’s most stunning and ancient landscapes and I am thrilled it has been granted world heritage site status.
“It is a unique part of the world that combines a vibrant farming community with thousands of archaeological sites and structures that give us an amazing glimpse into our past.
“This decision will undoubtedly elevate the position of the Lake District internationally, boosting tourism and benefiting local communities and businesses.”

Wastwater in the Lake District UNESCO World Heritage Site
Wastwater and the screes


Book Your stay Here


Striding Edge in the Lake District UNESCO World Heritage Site. Picture by Simon Ledingham.
Striding Edge.

Related Links :