Sebergham – St Mary’s Church
The present church replaces an earlier chapel, though little is known about why or when. The building is of plain and ancient structure, consisting of chancel, nave and tower (added 1825), with one bell.
The church was restored in 1880, when the chancel was almost entirely rebuilt, the old east window restored, and a new pulpit provided. There was a further restoration in 1905.
Three great names in Cumberland history are connected with this church : Josiah Relph, poet, curate and schoolmaster; Thomas Denton, parson and poet; and the renowned sculptor Musgrave Lewthwaite Watson.
The four lancet windows retained in the restoration are 13th century. From the belfrey a triple mullioned oriel window looks down on the nave, and up to the hammerbeam roof. This dates from the 1905 restoration, replacing an oval one. A pair of windows in the North side of the nave contains a fine stained glass picture of the Good Samaritan, and on the wall nearby, is a charming memorial mosaic of our Lord with the little ones.
Photos by Simon Ledingham.
Go to Menu :