Newcastle and Carlisle Railway

The Newcastle and Carlisle Railway

The Newcastle and Carlisle Railway, occasionally referred to as the Tyne Valley Line, is a 60-mile line built in the 1830s, and linking the city of Newcastle upon Tyne in Tyne and Wear with Carlisle.

Wetheral Station
Wetheral Station and Eden Viaduct. Photo by Simon Ledingham

Formal opening took place on 18 June 1838. The line follows the course of the River Tyne through Northumberland. Five stations and two viaducts on the route are listed structures.
The stations in Cumbria :

Wetheral Station
Wetheral Station steam special – ‘The Hadrian’ – 29th Mar 2014.

The stations outside Cumbria :
Haltwhistle, Bardon Mill, Haydon Bridge, Hexham, Corbridge, Prudhoe, Metro Centre, Newcastle.
Carlisle is a major interchange, with the West Coast Main Line Railway from London to Glasgow, calling at 3 stations in Cumbria – Oxenholme, Penrith and Carlisle. It is also the northern end of the famous Carlisle to Settle Railway. There is the The Cumbrian Coast Railway to Barrow-in-Furness, continuing via the Furness line to Lancaster. There is also a line to Dumfries and south eastern Scotland.
The line is close to Hadrian’s Wall along its route from Carlisle to Newcastle.
Related Links :

Return to menu :

[wpgmza id=”597″]