Kirklinton Hall and Gardens
Location : Longtown
Adjacent to the 12th Century de Boyville stronghold, Kirklinton Hall is said to have been built from its stone.
The Grade II-listed Kirklinton Hall, originally built in 1660 by the Appleby family, and further extended in 1875, was once an impressive country house, an RAF base, a school, a hotel, and a nightclub, casino and gangsters’ gambling den before gambling law changes forced its closure.
The facade is largely complete and the structure boasts ornate Jacobean-style Dutch gables and a garden waterfall.
The house was used by the RAF during the Second World War before retired farmers Doris and Willie Hay bought it in 1948 and transformed it into a nightclub and hotel in the sixties.
The hall fell victim to a fire, leaving its interior badly scarred. The roof was also taken off and the inside walls demolished.
It was put up for sale in 2002, and bought by the Boyle family in June 2012, who plan to restore the house and gardens to their former glory.
There are 12 acres of Garden and Grounds consisting of formal terraces planted in the style of 1680s, a walled working kitchen garden, tilt yard and Pell-Mell ground, and the Faerie Glen – a romantic woodland walk populated by fairies.
It is also the official home of SlowFood Cumbria, in partnership with the Mallsgate Hall Estate.
Kirklinton Hall and Gardens is now only open during the weekly market on Thursdays 10:00 – 16:00
Also open all year-round for Weddings and Events.
There are various memorials to the Appleby family in the nearby St Cuthbert’s Church, Kirklinton.
|a:||Kirklinton, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA6 6BB|
Related Links :
Return to Menu :