Beatrix Potter Books

Beatrix Potter Books

Beatrix Potter books come alive with her beautiful illustrations and are read and loved by children and adults across the world.

Peter Rabbit, Tom Kitten, and Jemima Puddle-duck are some of Beatrix Potter‘s most memorable characters. It was her time holidaying, and later on, living in the Lake District where she created the many treasured characters we know from childhood.

Her first “Tale”, The Tale of Peter Rabbit was published on the second of October 1902 and was an instant success selling more than 20,000 copies in its first year, needing to be reprinted six times!

an image showing the front cover of the tale of peter rabbit by beatrix potter

Beatrix Potter went on to write and illustrate a total of 23 books in the “Tales” series and wrote another 10 other books, including colouring and painting books, and an almanac.

Overall her books have gone on to sell over 250 million copies worldwide making Beatrix Potter one of the best selling and most beloved children’s authors of all time.

Beatrix Potter Books – The Tales Series

The Tale of Peter Rabbit (1902)
The Tale of Squirrel Nutkin (1903)
The Tailor of Gloucester (1904)
The Tale of Benjamin Bunny (1904)
The Tale of Two Bad Mice (1904)
The Tale of Mrs. Tiggy-Winkle (1905)
The Tale of the Pie and the Patty-Pan (1905)
The Tale of Mr. Jeremy Fisher (1906)
The Story of a Fierce Bad Rabbit (1906)
The Story of Miss Moppet (1906)
The Tale of Tom Kitten (1907)
The Tale of Jemima Puddle-Duck (1908)
The Tale of Samuel Whiskers or The Roly-Poly Pudding (1908)
The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies (1909)
The Tale of Ginger and Pickles (1909)
The Tale of Mrs. Tittlemouse (1910)
The Tale of Timmy Tiptoes (1911)
The Tale of Mr. Tod (1912)
The Tale of Pigling Bland (1913)
Appley Dapply’s Nursery Rhymes (1917)
The Tale of Johnny Town-mouse (1918)
Cecily Parsley’s Nursery Rhymes (1922)
The Tale of Little Pig Robinson (1930)

The whole series is available as The Complete Collection of Original Tales 1-23


Beatrix Potter Colouring Books

The Tale of Peter Rabbit Coloring Book (1911)
Tom Kittens Painting Book (1917)
Jemima Puddle-Duck’s Painting Book (1925)

Other Beatrix Potter Story Books

The Fairy Caravan (1929)
Sister Anne (1932)
Wag-by-Wall (1944)
The Tale of the Faithful Dove (1955)
The Sly Old Cat (1906 – published 1971)
The Tale of Tuppenny (1973)

Peter Rabbit’s Almanac for 1929 (1928)

Visit Cumbria is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small commission. Read the full disclosure here.

Menu :