The house, which now belongs to the descendants of the poet, retains a lived in family atmosphere, and has changed little since Wordsworth and his family came to live here. They rented the house from Lady le Fleming, of nearby Rydal Hall.
Also to be seen are the family bedrooms of William and Mary, Dorothy, and Dora, and Wordsworth’s attic study, which he used when he was Poet Laureate. The house contains portraits, personal possessions and first editions of the poet’s work.
The dining room, part of the old Tudor cottage whose records go back to 1574, contrasts pleasingly with the larger proportions of the drawing room and library, added in 1750.
Wordsworth was a keen landscape gardener, and the four acre garden remains much as he designed it. It consists of rare shrubs, fell-side terraces, lawns, rock pools and an ancient mound. The mound dates from the 9th Century, when it was used as a site for a Beacon Fire to warn of coming Border Raiders.
In season the daffodils, bluebells and rhododendrons produce a spectacular display of colour. A leaflet is available describing a walk round the garden, and highlighting 26 plants and trees of interest. From the summerhouse is a stunning view over Rydal Water.
After his daughter Dora died in 1847, William went down to a small field between the house and the main road, and together with his wife, sister and gardener, planted hundreds of daffodils as a memorial to Dora. Dora’s Field now belongs to the National Trust.
- Wordsworth Attractions in the Lake District
- William Wordsworth
- Gardens and Houses
- South Lakes Area Menu
Contact details :
Grid Ref : NY 367064