Located in scenic Eskdale, the village of Eskdale Green is a popular stop along the L’aal Ratty’ railway. Once packhorse trails and drover roads went through the valley. The Romans came this way from Hard Knott Fort. The rivers Mite and Esk flow past the village. The village is a convenient stopover for walks in the Eskdale valley, some of which are described below [Links].
The Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway passses through Eskdale Green, where there are stations at Eskdale Green and Irton Road.
In the centre of the village is the small St Bega‘s church.
Gatehouse was built in 1896 as a country retreat for Lord Rea, a Liverpool coal and shipping millionaire. It has been owned by The Outward Bound trust since 1950 and has recently under gone extensive refurbishment. The grounds were designed by the the famous landscape architect, Thomas Mawson of Windermere.
The Japanese Garden, in Giggle Alley forest, [NY 141001], was the jewel in James Rea’s horticultural crown. Following decades of neglect, the garden is now being caringly restored by local volunteers and Forest Enterprise. There are thickets of bamboo, a stunning display of Japanese maples and the heady scent of azaleas in the spring. The whole forest is open to the public and makes for an ideal Sunday afternoon walk.
Along the narrow road to Miterdale is Long Rigg Farm once a ‘model farm’ and part of the Gatehouse Estate. Every one of the farm buildings is a beautifully built listed structure – the pig-sty, manure shed, shippon etc.
Each year at the August Bank Holiday Sunday, the Eskdale Fete is held in the grounds of the Outward Bound Centre (Gatehouse).