Egremont – St Michael & St Mary’s Church
Location : Egremont
Grid Ref NY 011106
Main St, Egremont
St Michael & St Mary’s Church, a minor gem of Victorian gothic architecture, was built in the Early English style in 1881, to a design by T.L Banks of Whitehaven, replacing an earlier church on the same site. Like many other buildings in the town, it was built from locally quarried sandstone.
It has slender pillars supporting the roof and nave arches. The capitals at the top are carved in floral designs, of which there are almost 100, all different.
In 1901 the tower was raised by 42 feet and contains a set of eight bells presented by Lord Leconfield.
A recess in the west wall houses the baptistry, donated by the Freemasons of Egremont, and contains seven stained-glass windows. The baptistry also contains some fine carvings.
The font is of unusual design. It is a sculpture of a kneeling angel holding a large scallop shell, copied from a design in the Lutheran Cathedral in Copenhagen.
Above the alter is a beautifully carved reredos, and above that a large stained glass window. The glass in the rose window was replaced with a modern design by Christine Boyce in 1992.
Aerial photo by Simon Ledingham.
Go to Menu :