West Lakes and Lake District Coast

The West Lakes Area of The Lake District

Go to : Places to Stay
Western Lakeland is a land of vivid and exciting contrasts, lying between the mountains and the sea. The coastal towns are within minutes of complete peace and tranquility. Whitehaven is the main administrative centre for Copeland Borough Council, and Workington for Allerdale Borough Council.
There are four main valleys, each with their own distinct character, leading from the coast into the heart of the Lake District: Ennerdale, Eskdale, Wasdale and Dunnerdale. Wasdale is the home of England’s highest mountain Scafell Pike (3206 ft) and the deepest lake – Wastwater.
West Cumbria Coast Overview

Cumbrian Coast Railway Line
The Cumbria Coastal Way
Coast to Coast Walk
Sea to Sea Cycle Route
West Cumbria Cycle Network
Western Lakes and Coast Car Tour

Other pages of interest in the area.

Churches in the area.

Go to Menu :

[wpgmza id=”557″]