Grid Ref : NY 502266
Tirril is a small village on the road between Pooley Bridge and and Eamont Bridge at the northern end of Lake Ullswater.
There are various associations of this area to William Wordsworth, who gained inspiration from the daffodils at Ullswater to write his famous poem ‘The Daffodils’.
Wordsworth’s grandfather came from Yorkshire to take up the post of “Clerk of the Peace” and managing agent for Lowther Estates. He lived in the adjoining village of Sockbridge at the 15th century Sockbridge Hall (now Wordsworth House).
Wordsworth’s brother, Richard, also lived in Tirril and once owned the local pub, the Queen’s Head Inn. On Richard’s death his young son, John, inherited it, and William Wordsworth helped manage it until John came of age. It was eventually sold by John to pay for his education. The indenture hangs on the pub wall.
With its two-foot thick stone walls and inglenook fireplace, the 1719 pub boasts an unbroken record of serving beer to the public. Original flagstone floors and beams add to the atmosphere along with Wordsworth Deed. It offers local ales from its own Tirril Brewery.
The Tirril Brewery was opened in September 1999 behind the Queens Head Inn. A 2.5 barrel brewplant was used. The brewery moved during the summer of 2002 to Brougham Hall, Brougham, Penrith, where a new 5 barrel brewplant was used. The original brewplant was sold to the Loweswater Brewery. The brewery moved once more during the summer of 2007 to Long Marton, near Appleby-in-Westmorland.
Thomas Wilkinson was a well-known local poet and a friend of Wordsworth. Tirril was an important centre in the Quaker movement, and Wilkinson was one of its advocates. The Quaker Meeting House (now a private home) was built in 1773. Next to the house is a graveyard.
A short walk from the village is the interesting church of St Michael at Barton.
Aerial photos by Simon Ledingham.