National Trust Properties in Cumbria

National Trust in the Lake District & Cumbria

The National Trust’s most important work in Cumbria is the conservation of about one quarter of the Lake District National Park. Almost all the central fell area and the major valley heads are owned or held on lease by the trust, 91 farms, twenty four lakes and tarns, and much of their shoreline are also fully protected. These 123,500 acres are about a quarter of the National Trust’s entire holding.

The Main National Trust Properties

Acorn Bank
Acorn Bank Mill
Allan Bank
Beatrix Potter Gallery


Fell Foot
Hill Top
Sizergh Castle
Stagshaw Gardens


Townend House
Wordsworth House
Wray Castle


National Trust Lakes

Crummock Water



Ennerdale Water
Rydal Water




National Trust Tarns

Brothers Water
Blea Tarn
Little Langdale Tarn
Loughrigg Tarn


Overwater Tarn
Tarn Hows
Watendlath Tarn
Yew Tree Tarn


Other National Trust properties open to the public

Bridge House
Cartmel Priory Gate
Castlerigg Circle
Dalton Castle


Derwent Isle House
Galva Roman Fort
Wordsworth Point
Hardknott Fort


Hawkshead Court
Keld Chapel
High Close Estate
Church Stile


Force Crag Mine
Yew Tree Farm
Claife Heights
Cathedral Cave


National Trust Landscape

Aira Force
The Bowder Stone
Dora's Field


Edward VII Memorial
Brandlehow Wood
Friar's Crag
Great Langdale


Little Langdale
Scale Force
Wordsworth Point

Other places not on here yet – Arnside Knott, Cockshott Point, Dunnerdale, Plumpton Marsh, Sandscale Haws, Solway Commons, Wetherall Woods, Whitemoss Common.

Book Your stay Here