The Abbeys and Priories of Cumbria and the Lake District

There were twelve houses of monks, nuns and canons in Cumbria in the middle ages, as well as four friaries of which nothing remains. As well as Carlisle Cathedral, four of these monastic churches have remained in use as parish churches – Cartmel, St Bees, Holm Cultram and Lanercost.

Calder Abbey

Carlisle Cathedral

Cartmel Priory

Conishead Priory


Furness Abbey

Holme Cultram Abbey

Lanercost Priory

St Bees Priory


Shap Abbey

Wetheral Priory

Go to Menu :