Location NY 325399
The first building in Caldbeck was thought to be a hospice for travellers built by the monks from the priory at Carlisle. Later, in 1112, the first part of St Kentigern’s Church, which is still the heart of the village, was built. On the riverbank behind the Church is St Mungo’s well, a spring made holy by Kentigern. The churchyard is the resting place of Mary Harrison, (the Beauty of Buttermere), and John Peel the famous huntsman.
Caldbeck is named after the river (Cold Beck) on which is stands. This river and its tributaries provided the water power for the important industrial development of the 17th and 18th Centuries – corn mills, woollen mills, bobbin mills a paper mill and a brewery. Many of these old buildings still exist in the village.
There is a pleasant walk from the car park, past the village duck pond (old clay dubs), up to the Howk (85: NY 317398), a limestone gorge containing waterfalls and the picturesque ruins of the old Bobbin Mill.
The bobbin mill once had the largest waterwheel in the country, at 3 feet wide, and 42 feet diameter.
Priests Mill is an old watermill built by a rector of Caldbeck on the riverbank just below the Church. It is in a secluded position, almost hidden from the road. The award winning restoration now houses a restaurant, and various interesting shops.
Accommodation links :
- Mosedale End Farm – traditional working farm 4* B&B and Glamping pod. Caldbeck 6 miles
- Brownrigg Hall Caravans – 2 fully centrally heated & double glazed self catering holiday caravans on a traditional working fell farm. Caldbeck 1 mile
Go to Menu :